Equity Professional Book Collection: Home

A guide to multicultural education, featuring lessons and readings designed for school staff development, as well as articles by seasoned practitioners, providing teaching suggestions for early childhood through secondary school, and including coverage of racism, how to respond to injustices, technology, schoolwide activities, and holidays and heritage.

The White Ally Toolkit Workbook gives people concrete guidance about how to respond a wide variety of statements that racism-denying white folks make everyday. In addition, the workbook presents an extensive sequenced curriculum that an ally can use if they want to purposefully change someone in the circle of influence.

Gender Diversity and LGBTQ Inclusion in K-12 Schools provides a helpful roadmap for educators hoping to create safe and empowering spaces for LGBTQ and gender-diverse students and families.

A guide for first and second-grade educators that promotes effective teaching methods for multicultural classrooms, and describes ways to encourage students to think critically about the world and diversity.

Culturally Sustaining Pedagogies raises fundamental questions about the purpose of schooling in changing societies. Bringing together an intergenerational group of prominent educators and researchers, this volume engages and extends the concept of culturally sustaining pedagogy (CSP) -- teaching that perpetuates and fosters linguistic, literate, and cultural pluralism as part of schooling for positive school transformation. The authors propose that schooling should be a site for sustaining the cultural practices of communities of colour, rather than eradicating them. Chapters present theoretically grounded examples of how educators and scholars can support Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian/Pacific Islander, South African, and immigrant students as part of a collective movement towards educational justice in a changing world. Book Features: a definitive resource on culturally sustaining pedagogies, including what they look like in the classroom and how they differ from deficit-model approaches; examples of teaching that sustain the languages, literacies, and cultural practices of students and communities of colour; contributions from the founders of such lasting educational frameworks as cultrurally relevant pedagogy, funds of knowledge, cultural modeling, and third space.

A look at the politics of language instruction for students of colour. A fresh, cutting-edge work, The Skin that We Speak takes the discussion of language in the classroom beyond the highly-charged war of idioms - in which English only' means standard English only - and provides teachers and parents with a thoughtful exploration of the varieties of English spoken and the layers of politics, power and identity that those forms carry.'

Discusses the aspects of public education that fail poor children of color in the United States and how expectations can be raised for them.

In this inspiring collection, the award-winning, bestselling author—and MacArthur genius—gathers all-star advice for K–12 teachers on engaging students around today's toughest issues. In Teaching When the World Is on Fire, Delpit now turns to a host of crucial issues facing teachers in these tumultuous times.

Become a skilled anti-bias teacher with this eagerly awaited successor to the influential Anti-Bias Curriculum! This volume offers practical guidance on confronting and eliminating barriers of prejudice, misinformation, and bias and provides tips for helping staff and children respect each other, themselves, and all people.Individual chapters focus on culture and language, racial identity, family structures, gender identity, economic class, different abilities, holidays, and more.

A guide to anti-bias education practices for early childhood educators that discusses conceptual frameworks, strategies, and practical tools.

What is white fragility? In this groundbreaking and timely book, antiracist educator Robin DiAngelo deftly illuminates the phenomenon of white fragility.

What does it mean to be white in a society that proclaims race meaningless yet is divided by race? In the face of pervasive racial inequality and segregation, most white people cannot answer that question.

Millennial Teachers of Color explores the opportunities and challenges for creating and sustaining a healthy teaching force in the United States. Readers will gain insights on this unique and valuable group of prospective and practicing preK-12 educators and understanding of the need for more contemporary approaches to recruitment, preparation, hiring, and placement.

This book furthers the discussion concerning critical pedagogy and its practical applications for urban contexts. It addresses two looming, yet under-explored questions that have emerged with the ascendancy of critical pedagogy in the educational discourse: (1) What does critical pedagogy look like in work with urban youth? and (2) How can a systematic investigation of critical work enacted in urban contexts simultaneously draw upon and push the core tenets of critical pedagogy? Addressing the tensions inherent in enacting critical pedagogy - between working to disrupt and to successfully navigate oppressive institutionalized structures, and between the practice of critical pedagogy and the current standards-driven climate - The Art of Critical Pedagogy seeks to generate authentic internal and external dialogues among educators in search of texts that offer guidance for teaching for a more socially just world

This book, written by an experienced urban classroom teacher and coach, aims to document effective practices in urban schools and to provide insight into productive program building and educational practices. The book rejects the up-by-your-bootstraps theory of success, offering in its place a set of concrete strategies for teachers and educational leaders who are committed to fundamentally rethinking the business-as-usual approach which continues to fail urban school children. This book is well-suited for classes working with educational leaders, classroom teachers, sports coaches, and educational researchers.

A collection of essays written by teacher-activists discusses the injustice of public education reforms that scapegoat teachers and unions and impose a market mentality; and offers alternatives.

This breakthrough book features concrete strategies that foster strong family-school partnerships which, in turn, help guarantee student success. The strategies, which enable teachers to interact with diverse families, include class and school demographic profiles, parenting contracts, parent vision statements, and parent informant literacy groups.

"How to Be Less Stupid About Race is your essential guide to breaking through the half-truths and ridiculous misconceptions that have thoroughly corrupted the way race is represented in the classroom, pop culture, media, and politics.

A bold, brain-based teaching approach to culturally responsive instruction. The achievement gap remains a stubborn problem for educators of culturally and linguistically diverse students. With the introduction of the rigorous Common Core State Standards, diverse classrooms need a proven framework for optimizing student engagement and facilitating deeper learning. Culturally responsive pedagogy has shown great promise in meeting this need, but many educators still struggle with its implementation.

Principals, teachers, and parents offer tips, checklists, and other resources that can build strong collaborative relationships between parents and schools, which in turn improves students' performance in school.

How can low-income, non-English-speaking parents become advocates, leaders, and role models in their children's schools? A Cord of Three Strands offers a close study of the Logan Square Neighborhood Association, a grassroots organization on the northwest side of Chicago, whose work on parent engagement has drawn national attention. The author identifies three elements--induction, integration, and investment--that together capture the dynamic and developmental nature of successful parent engagement.

"Howard shares his personal journey of transformation, presents a conceptual framework that illuminates White dominance, and explicates the journey of White identity development. Howard's text also scaffolds students when he asks them to explore and examine the subtle and institutional manifestations of race and racism in their personal lives and in the larger society"--Page xi.

Examines schools' success in closing the achievement gap, and explains how adopting greater awareness of race and culture can improve educational outcomes.

Matthew Kay has spent his career learning how to lead students through the most difficult race conversations. He not only makes the case that high school classrooms are one of the best places to have those conversations, but he also offers a method for getting them right.

Anti-Bias Education in the Early Childhood Classroom provides a useful, clearly outlined guide for implementing anti-bias and anti-oppression practices in early childhood education settings. Throughout the book, you'll find: stories from the field; strategies for keeping teaching practices in touch with growing social justice movements; [and] tasks and questions to spark your professional growth in this important area. Katie Kissinger uses her personal experience as a longtime educator to highlight both the challenges and the potential for transformative learning in the anti-bias classroom, and gives other teachers the tools they need to create classrooms that welcome all students and families.

Profiles eight teachers whose aim is to affirm and strengthen cultural identity, thereby improving the lives of African-American students and all children.

In Unconscious Bias in Schools, two seasoned educators describe the phenomenon of unconscious racial bias and how it negatively affects the work of educators and students in schools. “Regardless of the amount of effort, time, and resources education leaders put into improving the academic achievement of students of color,” the authors write, “if unconscious racial bias is overlooked, improvement efforts may never achieve their highest potential.”

The only way to undo racism is to consistently identify and describe it—and then dismantle it. Antiracism is a transformative concept that reorients and reenergizes the conversation about racism—and, even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other.

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot has written a wise, useful book about the ways in which parents and teachers can make the most of their essential conversation--the dialogue between the most vital people in a child's life. "The essential conversation" is the crucial exchange that occurs between parents and teachers--a dialogue that takes place more than one hundred million times a year across our country and is both mirror of and metaphor for the larger cultural forces that define family-school relationships and shape the development of our children.

Drawing on her life’s work of teaching and researching in urban schools, Bettina Love persuasively argues that educators must teach students about racial violence, oppression, and how to make sustainable change in their communities through radical civic initiatives and movements. She argues that the US educational system is maintained by and profits from the suffering of children of color. Instead of trying to repair a flawed system, educational reformers offer survival tactics in the forms of test-taking skills, acronyms, grit labs, and character education, which Love calls the educational survival complex.

Law professor and mindfulness practitioner Rhonda Magee reveals that the work of racial justice begins with ourselves. When conflict and division are everyday realities, our instincts tell us to close ranks, to find the safety of our own tribe, and to blame others.

Teachers and administrators will learn how to create the respectful, trusting relationships with families necessary to build the educational partnerships that best support children's learning. The book will cover the mindset and core beliefs required to bond with families, and will provide guidance on how to plan engagement opportunities and events throughout the school year that undergird effective partnerships between families and schools.

In this powerful collection, edited by Black Girl Dangerous creator Mia McKenzie, writers, activists and artists of color share their visions for, and struggles with, solidarity at the intersections of PoC identity. How can we as Black people, Indigenous people and people of color, show up for each other? How are we succeeding and failing at that? Is there any hope for real solidarity between us? If not, what does that mean for us? If so, what will it take? Featuring Black Lives Matter organization co-founder Patrisse Cullors; activist CeCe McDonald; writer Ngọc Loan Trần; comic artist Ethan Parker; activist and organizer Jennicet GutiErrez; and more

A challenge to narrow, profit-driven conceptions of school success and an argument for protecting public education to ensure that all students become competent citizens in a vibrant democracy In These Schools Belong to You and Me , MacArthur award-winning educator, reformer, and author Deborah Meier draws on her fifty-plus years of experience to argue that the purpose of universal education is to provide young people with an "apprenticeship for citizenship in a democracy." Through an intergenerational exchange with her former colleague and fellow educator Emily Gasoi, the coauthors analyze the last several decades of education reform, challenging narrow profit-driven conceptions of school success. Reflecting on the trajectory of education and social policies that are leading our country further from rule "of, for, and by the people," the authors apply their extensive knowledge and years of research to address the question of how public education must change in order to counter the erosion of democratic spirit and practice in schools and in the nation as a whole. Meier and Gasoi candidly reflect on the successes, missteps, and challenges they experienced working in democratically governed schools, demonstrating that it is possible to provide an enriched education to all students, not just the privileged few. Arguing that public education and democracy are inextricably bound, and pushing against the tide of privatization, These Schools Belong to You and Me is a rousing call to both save and improve public schools to ensure that all students are empowered to help shape our future democracy.

Start Where You Are, But Don't Stay There addresses a crucial issue in teacher training and professional education: the need to prepare preservice and inservice teachers for the racially diverse student populations in their classrooms. The book centers on case studies that exemplify the challenges, pitfalls, and opportunities facing teachers in diverse classrooms. These case studies of white and African American teachers working (and preparing to work) in urban and suburban settings are presented amid more general discussions about race and teaching in contemporary schools. Informing these discussions and the cases themselves is their persistent attention to opportunity gaps that need to be fully grasped by teachers who aim to understand and promote the success of students of greatly varying backgrounds.

In this incisive and practical book, H. Richard Milner IV provides educators with a crucial understanding of how to teach students of color who live in poverty. Milner looks carefully at the circumstances of these students' lives and describes how those circumstances profoundly affect their experiences within schools and classrooms. In a series of detailed chapters, Milner proposes effective practices--at district and school levels, and in individual classrooms--for school leaders and teachers who are committed to creating the best educational opportunities for these students. Building on established literature, new research, and a number of revelatory case studies, Milner casts essential light on the experiences of students and their families living in poverty, while pointing to educational strategies that are shaped with these students' unique circumstances in mind. Milner's astute and nuanced account will fundamentally change how school leaders and teachers think about race and poverty--and how they can best serve these students in their schools and classrooms.

While challenging the teacher as hero trope, We Got This shows how authentically listening to kids is the closest thing to a superpower that we have. What we hear can spark action that allows us to make powerful moves toward equity by broadening access to learning for all children. A lone teacher can't eliminate inequity, but Cornelius demonstrates that a lone teacher can confront the scholastic manifestations of racism, sexism, ableism and classism by showing: exactly how he plans and revises lessons to ensure access and equity ways to look anew at explicit and tacit rules that consistently affect groups of students unequally suggestions for leaning into classroom community when it feels like the kids are against you ideas for using universal design that make curriculum relevant and accessible advocacy strategies for making classroom and schoolwide changes that expand access to opportunity to your students.

Takes a comprehensive look at race relations in schools and in society across America, suggesting ways in which communities can improve the situation for the benefit of all students.

In this New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo explores the complex reality of today's racial landscape--from white privilege and police brutality to systemic discrimination and the Black Lives Matter movement--offering straightforward clarity that readers need to contribute to the dismantling of the racial divide. In So You Want to Talk About Race, Editor at Large of The Establishment Ijeoma Oluo offers a contemporary, accessible take on the racial landscape in America, addressing head-on such issues as privilege, police brutality, intersectionality, micro-aggressions, the Black Lives Matter movement, and the "N" word. Perfectly positioned to bridge the gap between people of color and white Americans struggling with race complexities, Oluo answers the questions readers don't dare ask, and explains the concepts that continue to elude everyday Americans. Oluo is an exceptional writer with a rare ability to be straightforward, funny, and effective in her coverage of sensitive, hyper-charged issues in America. Her messages are passionate but finely tuned and crystalize ideas that would otherwise be vague by empowering them with aha-moment clarity. Her writing brings to mind voices like Ta-Nehisi Coates, Roxane Gay, Jessica Valenti in Full Frontal Feminism, and a young Gloria Naylor, particularly in Naylor's seminal essay "The Meaning of a Word."

Carla Shalaby, a former elementary school teachers, explores the everyday lives of four young "troublemakers" as a way of identifying and understanding so-called problem children.

Examines the achievement gap between students of different races and explains the need for candid, courageous conversations about race to help educators understand performance inequality and develop a curriculum that promotes true academic parity.

There is no denying the fact that our world is steeped in racism. Whether you're a person of color who has experienced the pain of racial slurs or discrimination, or a White person who is coming to terms with and confronting your privilege and the realities of injustice—racism is a profound source of grief, shame, and loss for everyone.

In this galvanizing book for all educators, Kristin Souers and Pete Hall explore an urgent and growing issue--childhood trauma--and its profound effect on learning and teaching. Grounded in research and the authors' experience working with trauma-affected students and their teachers, Fostering Resilient Learners will help you cultivate a trauma-sensitive learning environment for students across all content areas, grade levels, and educational settings. The authors--a mental health therapist and a veteran principal--provide proven, reliable strategies to help you * Understand what trauma is and how it hinders the learning, motivation, and success of all students in the classroom. * Build strong relationships and create a safe space to enable students to learn at high levels. * Adopt a strengths-based approach that leads you to recalibrate how you view destructive student behaviors and to perceive what students need to break negative cycles. * Head off frustration and burnout with essential self-care techniques that will help you and your students flourish. Each chapter also includes questions and exercises to encourage reflection and extension of the ideas in this book. As an educator, you face the impact of trauma in the classroom every day. Let this book be your guide to seeking solutions rather than dwelling on problems, to building relationships that allow students to grow, thrive, and--most assuredly--learn at high levels.

Through dramatic personal stories, Claude Steele shares the experiments and studies that show, again and again, that exposing subjects to stereotypes--merely reminding a group of female math majors about to take a math test, for example, that women are considered naturally inferior to men at math--impairs their performance in the area affected by the stereotype. Steele's conclusions shed new light on a host of American social phenomena, from the racial and gender gaps in standardized test scores to the belief in the superior athletic prowess of black men. Steele explicates the dilemmas that arise in every American's life around issues of identity, from the white student whose grades drop steadily in his African American Studies class to the female engineering students deciding whether or not to attend predominantly male professional conferences. Whistling Vivaldi offers insight into how we form our senses of identity and ultimately lays out a plan for mitigating the negative effects of "stereotype threat" and reshaping American identities.

A guide for facilitating and participating in difficult dialogues about race, author Derald Wing Sue - an internationally recognized expert on multiculturalism, diversity, and microaggressions - explores the characteristics, dynamics, and meaning behind discussions about race as well as the hidden "ground rules" that inhibit honest and productive dialogue. Through emotional and visceral examples, this book explains why conversations revolving around racial issues are so difficult, and provides guidelines, techniques, and advice for navigating and leading honest and forthright discussions. Readers will develop a stronger ability to build rapport with people unlike themselves, and discover how not talking about race impacts society as a whole.

Untangles the complex relationships between class and race in contemporary white identity and outlines four ways this orientation is expressed, each serving to establish one's lack of racism: the denigration of lower-class white people as responsible for ongoing white racism, the demonization of antebellum slaveholders, an emphasis on colorblindness..., and the cultivation of attitudes of white guilt, shame, and betrayal.

Beverly Daniel Tatum emerged on the national scene in 1997 with "Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?," a book that spoke to a wide audience about the psychological dynamics of race relations in America. Tatum's unique ability to get people talking about race captured the attention of many, from Oprah Winfrey to President Clinton, who invited her to join him in his nationally televised dialogues on race. In her first book since that pathbreaking success, Tatum starts with a warning call about the increasing but underreported resegregation of America. A selfdescribed "integration baby"-she was born in 1954-Tatum sees our growing isolation from each other as deeply problematic, and she believes that schools can be key institutions for forging connections across the racial divide.

Beverly Daniel Tatum, a renowned authority on the psychology of racism, argues that straight talk about our racial identities is essential if we are serious about enabling communication across racial and ethnic divides.

Learn how to engage and advocate for undocumented children and youth with this new resource written by and for teachers. Teachers as Allies provides educators with the information and tools they need to involve immigrant students and their American-born peers in inclusive and transformative classroom experiences. The authors show how immigration policies, ICE enforcement, and societal attitudes affect undocumented students and how teachers and school leaders can recognize these influences on students' day-to-day lives and learning. Offering teaching strategies that address the needs of DREAMers and undocumented youth as they move through their K-12 and college education, this timely book includes a broad range of curriculum connections and resources.

In a work that Lisa Delpit calls “imperative reading,” Monique W. Morris (Black Stats, Too Beautiful for Words) chronicles the experiences of Black girls across the country whose intricate lives are misunderstood, highly judged—by teachers, administrators, and the justice system—and degraded by the very institutions charged with helping them flourish. Called “compelling” and “thought-provoking” by Kirkus Reviews, Pushout exposes a world of confined potential and supports the rising movement to challenge the policies, practices, and cultural illiteracy that push countless students out of school and into unhealthy, unstable, and often unsafe futures.