Lower School Online Resources By Grade: 3rd Grade Resources

You can apply to get a DCPL library card online and have online access for 90 days before it is necessary to go to a library to complete the card registration process.

OverDrive is the DCPL eBook service that houses popular adult, teen, and kid's eBooks & Audiobooks in fiction and nonfiction, as well as streaming videos for the whole family. DCPL has provided a guide on how to access ebooks and download the apps, with video tutorials. The content is also available in Spanish.

The goDigital home page provides links for accessing more than 15 million free online movies, eBooks, music and more from the DC Public Library.

Bookflix offers animated books, read-alongs, puzzles, and games. Here is a tutorial.

Read, Wonder, and Learn! Favorite Authors & Illustrators Share Resources for Learning Anywhere. Put together by Author Kate Messner and continuously updated. Currently includes authors such as Lauren Tarshis of the I Survived series, and Jason Reynolds of the Track series and Ghost.

SaveWithStories is an instagram account in partnership with Save the Children where actors and other celebrities read aloud children’s books. Some celebrities include the Backstreet Boys, Amanda Gorman, Brie Larson, Jake Gyllenhaal, Kerry Washington, and Lupita Nyong'o.

Storyberries offers free short stories, audiobooks, and animated video books. You can sort by category, age level, or length of story.

Skybrary, provided by RIF, offers books with interactive animations, read-alouds, and other storytime options. You can currently get 30 days of service for free.

KidLit TV offers videos and activities meant to engage kids with books. Videos include read alouds, author features, and a drawing series. There are also book trailers, crafts and activities, and a KitLit radio podcast.

K-6 Children's eBook Database.

K-6 Math eBook Database

All Ages Audiobook Database

Abdo Digital Bookshelf provides fiction and nonfiction books for all ages K-12. The website has filter options for grade group, genre, subject, and format. There are online eBooks, as well as read-to-me and interactive eBooks.

Audible is currently streaming free children’s audiobooks. The collection goes up to teen aged books, and books are available in many other languages as well.

FirstBook offers free eBooks through Open eBooks, available for all ages, or elementary, middle, or high school distinctions. They also provide downloadable instructions in both English and Spanish.

The Open eBooks Collection was specifically designed for libraries and programs serving children in a wide age range where a shared device can be monitored by an educator or librarian. Get instant access to thousands of exciting titles for all ages to use in your program, or for kids to enjoy at home. Independent readers can instantly download up to 10 eBooks at a time to a mobile digital device, while younger readers can enjoy engaging eBooks with a caregiver or family member on the adult’s device. Each eBook will be available for 56 days before it must be renewed.

If you would like to use Open Ebooks, the library can support you in coordinating access of pins to students. Email us for support!

Storyweaver offers diverse and multicultural stories. They can be read online, downloaded to print, or read out loud, and stories can be translated into other languages.

TIME For Kids has released a free digital library of four grade-specific digital editions of TIME for Kids and Your $ financial literacy magazine. There are also supporting worksheets and quizzes available.