Skip to main content

CCPCS Library & Innovation: Family Resources

Find high quality resources using our subscription databases, Libguides created by our librarians, and other online resources here. 

 

Puede traducir esta página en Español seleccionando aquí la palabra "Spanish".

Get a Library Card @ DCPL

How do I get a DCPL card?

To get a library card, you can:

  1. Apply online(Strongly encouraged)
  2. Fill out a form at any District of Columbia Public Library location.
  3. Download, print and fill out your form and take it to any District of Columbia Public Library location. Click links to download:


Who can get a card?

Anyone who resides, works, pays property taxes or attends school in the District of Columbia can get a card. Library cards expire after three years. Library cards can only be renewed in person at any DC Public Library branch. We ask you to renew in person to make sure that we have all of your current contact information.

Or, if you are a resident of one of the following counties or cities you can get a DC Public Library Card for free:

Maryland

  • Montgomery
  • Prince George's

Virginia

  • Fairfax
  • Loudoun
  • Arlington
  • Prince William
  • Falls Church
  • Alexandria
  • Frederick

If you live elsewhere, you can apply and pay for a nonresident card.

Please note:  The DC Public Library is not permitted to issue electronic download only cards to those outside our service area (as listed above - D.C., Maryland and Virginia). If you live outside these areas, you may apply for a regular library card by visiting any library location in person. The cost is $20, and the card is good for one year. 

 

What do I need to get a card?

Adults must present two current forms of traceable identification, one to prove identity and one to prove place of residence. Examples include:

  • driver's license
  • rent receipt
  • utility bill
  • bank book
  • apartment lease
  • letter on letterhead from a shelter

We also ask for your e-mail address, which is used to provide you with library information ONLY, including notice of items on hold or due, and information about library services and activities.


What if I lose my card?

Please report the loss at once to any branch library, by phone or in person. You are responsible for materials taken out with the card until the card is reported lost or stolen. The library charges a small fee for a new card.


Does my card expire? 

Online registrations expire after thirty (30) days; otherwise cards expire after three (3) years. If your card has expired, please visit any library location to renew. Library cards can only be renewed in person at any DC Public Library branch. We ask you to renew in person to make sure that we have all of your current contact information.


What if I need to update my info? 

If you need to update your account information, please visit any library location and staff will help you. If changing your address, make sure to bring identification with you that proves identity and place of residence (see examples of accepted identification). If you have forgotten your PIN, please visit this page to reset it.
 

Opportunities for Teens @ DCPL

Looking for a job, internship, or volunteer opportunities? 

Opportunities at the Library

  • Teen Council (not accepting applications at this time): Teen Council members are D.C. residents and between the ages of 14-19 years old. They work 12 hours per week from November - August, helping the library with important tasks and projects.
  • Teen Volunteers: Earn community service hours for school as a Teen Library Helper at one of our neighborhood libraries.

Mayor Marion S. Barry Summer Youth Employment Program (MBSYEP)

DC Public Library will be a host site for Mayor Marion S. Barry's 2017 Summer Youth Employment Program (MBSYEP). Every summer, youth work in the neighborhood libraries by helping customers, shelve books, and learn new skills to put on their applications and resumes. Youth applications became available on January 27th, 2017 at 12:00pm. Applications must be received by Saturday, March 4th, 2017 (** date extended**)!

More Resources for Teens

Books for Teens @ DCPL

Suggested Books

The DC Public Library and the D.C. Public Schools have teamed up to suggest books you might enjoy. The lists include a variety of books for seventh- to 12th-graders, to satisfy every reading interest.

Themed Book Suggestions

Award Winners

Find an award-winning book to read by visiting the links below. Please note that the library may not always have every title available. Award lists are updated annually.
 

Capital City Public Charter School Library Resources

Homework Help for Kids @ DCPL

Online Databases

Use the library 24 hours a day from anywhere to find information to help you with your homework, all free with your DC Public Library Card:

Visit Us!

Our staff will help you find information to help you do your homework. View locations and hours of DC Public Libraries.

Looking for more resources? Visit our Complete List of Databases for Online Research.

Apps and Social Media @ DCPL

Place item holds remotely, renew materials, scan books to find them in the library collection, find library locations and much more. Best of all, like the DC Public Library, it's free!

The library offers eBooks for multiple platforms, including Kindle, Nook, and other types of eReaders with the OverDrive app.

Follow DC Public Library's podcasts to get a glimpse into the minds of library customers and staff. Find out more on our Podcasts page.

We also have presences nearly everywhere you like to play, read and interact online:

Downloadable Media @ DCPL

Download and Stream

eBooksaudiobooksmagazinesmusic, and video or continue your life-long learning with online courses. All free with your DC Public Library card.

eBooks & Audiobooks

eBooks & Audiobooks in OverDrive

Popular best-selling fiction and nonfiction titles, including kids and young adult books, available for streaming and download to your mobile device or desktop computer. For instructions visit our OverDrive guide.

Safari eBooks Online
Current and up-to-date eBooks in Computer Technology, Programming, and Personal & Professional Development from top publishers such as O’Reilly, Sams, Microsoft Press and more.

Magazines

RBdigital Magazines (formerly Zinio Digital Magazines)
Read popular magazines on your tablet, mobile device or computer. Zinio customers can continue to use their same login credentials to access magazines in the new RBdigital Magazines app. On September 8, 2017 the Zinio for Libraries app will be discontinued. For instructions visit our RBdigital Magazines guide.

Movies & Video 

Access Videos on Demand
Stream world-class documentaries, award-winning educational films, and instructional videos from PBS, BBC, History Channel, A&E, National Geographic, Ken Burns and other respected sources.


Criterion Collection
A selection of the most significant films of all time.

InstantFlix: Powered by IndieFlix
Thousands of award-winning independent movies, shorts, documentaries and web series from major film festivals from around the world. 

Video in OverDrive
Classic films, modern features, documentaries, children’s videos and more.

Visit our Video Collection for more online streaming.

Music

Freegal Music
Download up to three (3) songs a week and stream up to twenty-four (24) hours every day from ten thousand labels including Sony Music. 

Visit our Music Collection for more online streaming.

Online Learning

Language Learning Audiobooks in OverDrive
Download or stream language learning audiobooks in multiple languages, including Spanish, German, Italian, Japanese, Arabic and English. 

Mango Languages
Looking to learn a new language or learn phrases for an upcoming trip? Try Mango Languages, an interactive online resource providing audio tutorials to practice reading, listening, and speaking in over 70 different languages. ESL Courses are also available. Have a younger language learner? Try Mango's Little Pim
 

Learning Express Library 
Study guides and test-preparation books to prepare for tests or pass licensing, certification or competitive entry-level exams. Topics include high school standardized tests, GED test, graduate school exams, civil service, U.S. citizenship, math, writing, and military. 

Lynda.com
Free unlimited access to high-quality instructional videos taught by industry experts on topics such as Microsoft Office, Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Web design, Social Media, Business and Career Skills and much more. Videos for all levels of learners. 

Universal Class
Personal and professional development classes led by real instructors who provide continuous feedback on your progress. Continuing Education Credits are available.

Visit our Online Learning Collection for more online learning.

The Labs @ DCPL

The Memory Lab is now open at Northeast Neighborhood Library and Studio Lab Express offers programming at Shepherd Park Neighborhood Library and other library locations throughout the city.

Please check the MLK Interim Services page for updates on the Martin Luther King Jr. Library modernization and interim services.

Sign up for email updates on the Labs at bit.ly/labs-email.

The Labs at DC Public Library, originally located at the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library, 901 G St. NW, is made up of spaces that give you an opportunity to learn new skills, turn your ideas into action and collaborate with others.

Scroll down for details on what the Memory Lab, Studio Lab Express and Fab Lab can do for you. You can sign up for classes for the Labs online.

What's Happening

Memory Lab

The Memory Lab, at Northeast Neighborhood Library at 330 7th St. NE, provides equipment for digitizing home movies and scanning photographs and slides. You can also take classes and find resources for your personal archiving needs.

Orientations are not required but drop-ins are strongly encouraged. You must provide your own storage environment, such as an external hard drive or a Google Drive/iCloud account.

Find out more at dclibrary.org/labs/memorylab.

Studio Lab Express

Studio Lab Express will explore innovative DIY classes, events and experiences focused on exploring, learning about and celebrating the possibilities in photography, videography and music and sound recordings -- from the sparks of ideas to post-production.

Based at Shepherd Park (Juanita E. Thornton) Neighborhood Library at 7420 Georgia Ave. NW, the Studio Lab offers programs for all ages.

Get more information at dclibrary.org/labs/studio.

Fab Lab

The Fabrication Lab -- or "Fab Lab" -- offers programs for all ages in emerging and computer-assisted technologies, along with "maker" tools old and new.

Equipment reservations are temporarily unavailable while an interim space is secured. Sign up for email updates at bit.ly/labsemail and check the MLK Interim Services page for updates on the Martin Luther King Jr. Library modernization and interim services.

Find out more at dclibrary.org/labs/fablab.

 

 

DACA Resources

Kids' Internet Safety @ DCPL

The Internet provides lots of useful information and fun activities, but the information you find is not always true or up-to-date.

The following kid-friendly search engines should make it easier for you to find good information for any purpose, kid-friendly activities and additional help with your homework.  Please note that the library is not responsible for information you find through an Internet search.

To help you find accurate information for your homework, the library has provided a special Web page.  Click here to get help with your homework. 

Caution to kids:  Sometimes you might meet people online who want to do you harm or who want to keep contacting you in order to get you to buy something. To avoid this, follow a few simple safety rules when using the Internet:

  • Never type in your personal information without your parent’s permission. This would include your name, phone number, address, school name and location, parent’s name or work location.
  • If you must type in a user name in order to enter a site, use a made-up name, NOT your real name.
  • If something you read online makes you uncomfortable, tell a parent or another responsible adult at once.
  • Never send a photograph of yourself online without first checking with a parent.
  • Never agree to get together with someone you meet online. Tell your parents if you receive such a request.
  • Share your password with your parents, but never give your password to anyone else, not even your best friend.
  • Always use good manners when you are online. Don’t do anything that would hurt others or is against the law.

These tips were adapted from the Kids’ Pledge, a family contract for online safety from
Safe.com.  Read a copy of the contract.  

The following links will give you additional tips for responsible and safe Internet use as well as online manners.

Books From Birth @ DCPL

Books From Birth is open to all children under the age of five who live in Washington, D.C.  

Please complete the form below to register the eligible children in your household for the Books From Birth program. If you have any questions or any technical issues filling out the application, 
please contact us booksfrombirth@dc.gov

Once you have registered, you should receive an email from our vendor Imagination Library confirming your approval. Again, this email will NOT come from the DC Public Library but from Imagination Library.

If you would like to find out more visit Books From Birth.

Weekly Story Times @ DCPL

Story time programs introduce young children to books, rhymes, music and other fun activities. Every week the library offers programs matched to the typical attention spans and developmental levels of different ages of children. Library story times incorporate the early literacy skills, such as vocabulary building, phonological awareness, and letter knowledge, that children must master before they can learn to read.

Click here to find a story time near you

Frequently Asked Questions: 

What is the role of adults at story time?


An adult bringing a child to story time must remain in the library throughout the duration of the program, and an adult must remain with babies and toddlers in the program itself. Parents and caregivers can learn by watching library staff demonstrate good read-aloud skills and by being aware of the age-appropriate books, music, songs and activities staff use during story time.

How can a parent or care giver find a convenient story time?


Please check the calendar to find a story time appropriate for your child and convenient to your family. Space at story times may be limited. Seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis unless otherwise indicated on the calendar listing.

How can a parent or care giver make the most of story time?

  • By coming to story time on a regular basis.
  • By arriving a few minutes early.
  • By paying attention to the stories and activities throughout story time.
  • By participating when encouraged to do so.
  • By not bringing food or toys to the story time.
  • By letting each child choose books and by checking them out to share at home.
  • By asking library staff for help in choosing age-appropriate books and music.
  • By taking an upset child out of the program area until he or she calms down.
  • By talking with your child about the stories after story time.
  • By repeating the story time rhymes and songs at home with your child.

Adult Literacy Resource Center @ DCPL

DC Public Library offers adult literacy services through the Adult Literacy Resource Center.  Learn more.


The Adult Literacy Resource Center is located in
Library Express at 1990 K St. NW, lower level (entrance on 20th St between K St. and I St.)
during the MLK Jr. Memorial Library's modernization.


For more info, please call 202-727-1616.

 

NOTE: The Adult Literacy Center no longer offers proctoring services. Contact the College Information Center for more information on proctoring services, at 202-442-8398.


If you think you need to improve your reading, writing and math skills for the GED test, you can call our Literacy Helpline at 202-727-2431 for information about organizations that offer classes. You can also use our directory to find classes as well. Click here for our directory which lists GED and literacy classes. 

Call 202-727-1616 for more information about Skills Tutor, Internet-delivered basic reading, math, workforce readiness and "employability" skills for adult learners.