LibGuides: OLD CCPCS Technology Help Guides: HS Tech

Need more help? Contact the library team to schedule a one-on-one training session on any of the resources listed below!

cclibrary@ccpcs.org

Trying to access from home? Use our Home Access Passwords to Subscription Databases document. (Must login with CCPCS email to view).

Student & Teacher Resources

Atriuum Book Systems Help Guides

Atriuum Book Systems Training Video
CCPCS Library OPAC (Online Catalog)
With this library catalog, teachers and students can log on to access their list of checked out books, create reading lists, and write reviews of books.
KidzViz: Library OPAC for Kids
This search is optimized to be used with elementary students.

Britannica Help Guides

Britannica Online Premium Help

Clever Help Guides

Clever - Student Login Guide Clever allows students to go to one website to access many of the tools they need for school.

Clever - Student & Parent Help Center
Clever - Teacher Help Center
Clever
Clever keeps educational applications rostered and up-to-date. Capital City PCS uses Clever for most, but not all of our blended learning and other software.

JSTOR Help Guides

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary source. With our subscription, we have access to Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Ecology and Botany, and Business.

Learning.com Help Guides

Adaptive Keyboarding: Overview

Learning.com This link opens in a new window
Used by the library/tech team in grades 4-9. Learning.com is an award-winning digital literacy solutions to prepare their students for success on online assessments, college, and the workforce.

Novelist Help Guides

Novelist Online Tutorials These short video tutorials demonstrate how to use the NoveList Plus features
Novelist Training & Promotion Site Use the articles on this site to learn how to search for books in Novelist Plus.

Novelist This link opens in a new window
For students in grades 2-12, as well as teachers. NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books.

Read and Write Help Guides

Read and Write for Chrome Video Tutorial

Read and Write Quick Reference Guide

Read and Write by Texthelp
Available for all 2nd-12th grade students and teachers. Read&Write lets everyone read, write and express themselves more confidently. This easy-to-use toolbar makes documents, files and web pages more accessible.

WeVideo Help Guides

WeVideo Academy - Tutorial Videos
WeVideo Support Center
WeVideo Educator Resource Center
WeVideo for Schools Teacher Guide This guide describes features and workflows specific to WeVideo for Schools - our platforms designed for educators. We highly recommend using this plan for all school projects. This will ensure that students can share media and collaborate in a secure environment monitored by a teacher.
WeVideo Student Project Ideas
WeVideo Webinar for Teachers
WeVideo Google + Community
WeVideo
Available for all 3rd-12th grade students and teachers.
This web-based video editor is ideal for working on long-term video projects over multiple computers, particularly on Chromebooks.

Blended Learning Playbook

Capital City PCS implements adaptive blended learning software as an RTI intervention in the High School foundations, numeracy and literacy classes. For more information, look in your physical Blended Learning Playbook, also available online below.

Blended Learning Timeline
This document outlines the timeline for blended learning, including deadlines for benchmark assessments and data consults.

MS & HS Blended Learning Worksheets

Imagine Math

These worksheets will be used during the blended learning data consults during the school year to support teachers understanding of these instructional platforms.

Teacher Training

K-4 & HS Blended Learning Implementation Worksheet

Fidelity

Data for Learning

Reading Plus

Teacher Training

K-4 & HS Blended Learning Implementation Worksheet

Fidelity

Data for Learning

Imagine Math Training Guides

Imagine Math Formerly Think Through Math, this platform provides engaging and adaptive math instruction, with unique student motivation and live, on-demand teacher support.
Imagine Math Fidelity Measurements
This document list the expectations for teachers and students when using Imagine Math during the school year.

Diagnostic Reports

Instructional Reports

How To Guides

Journaling and Graphic Organizers

Journaling Lesson Plan
Template: Graphic Learning Organizer
Imagine Math: Student Math Journal Plan Within this document are all the necessary pages needed to help your students get started with their Imagine Math Journals.
Using a Math Journal in the Imagine Math Classroom Having students use the TTM Math Journal along with the computer is very important to the success of the TTM program in your classroom.
How To: Measuring Student Growth with the Imagine Math Benchmark This document provides useful context for implementing and analyzing proficiency growth through the Imagine Math benchmarks.

IXL Training Guides

IXL Math
Used by our High School Math department, IXL offers unlimited questions, engaging item types, and real-world scenarios.
IXL Printable Resources
IXL Help Center
IXL User Guides
IXL Quick Start Guide

Reading Plus Training Guides

Reading Plus - Login through Clever Reading Plus simultaneously develops all three domains of reading–physical, cognitive, and emotional–by integrating them in one personalized online reading program. Rooted in eight decades of research, Reading Plus is proven to increase achievement in students from elementary grades through college.
Reading Plus Fidelity Measurements
This document list the expectations for teachers and students when using Reading Plus during the school year.

Diagnostic Reports

Instructional Reports

How To Guides

Reading Plus Learn Site Access training videos, webinars, resources, teaching tools and more.

CCPCS Library Website

Student Information Systems (SIS) Help Guides

Student Information Systems FAQs

Teacher Resources

Canvas Help Guides

Student & Teacher Canvas Training Guides

Instructure Global Navigation Training Guide New to Canvas? These training guides familiarize instructors with Canvas's navigation menus.
Canvas Video Guides
Canvas Instructor Guides (Online)
Canvas Instructor Guide (Comprehensive PDF)
Canvas Course: Instructor Orientation This is a self-paced Canvas Instructor Orientation course designed to familiarize instructors with the basic need-to-know tools and features of Canvas in an effort to prepare them for course design and delivery.
Canvas Engagement Strategies This group is a place where you can share your Canvas experiences and learn how others are leveraging Canvas, from Rollout, through Onboarding, and on to continued engagement!
Canvas FastTrack Series The "Canvas FastTrack Video Series" is a quick video guide for teachers to help with the alignment of Canvas tools with SAMR and the ways to perpetually increase user engagement!
Canvas Student Guides (Online)
Canvas Student Guide (Comprehensive PDF)

Parent Canvas Training Guides

Parent Registration and Student Observation In this video you will get an overview of how to register for a Canvas account as a parent or guardian.
Canvas Observer Guide (PDF)
How do I sign up for a Canvas account as a parent?
Canvas Parents iTunes App (in beta)

Beginning of Year Setup

Mandatory

CCPCS Canvas Beginning of Year Setup Checklist & Resources This google doc includes curated links to Canvas training most relevant for Capital City teachers.
Edit the Syllabus Description for your Course
Manually Add Instructors to your Course
Use Files to ensure access to important course documents As an instructor, Files allows you to store files and assignments within Canvas. You can upload one or multiple files, view all details about your files, preview files, publish and unpublish files, set usage rights, and restrict access to files.
Publish your Course!
Introduce your students Canvas

Strongly Recommended

Copy content from another Canvas course
Change the Section Name of your Course
Cross List a Section in a Course
Import File of Archived Course These directions let you copy content from last year’s classes into your new courses. In order to do this, you will need the .IMSCC file, which is the Canvas Course export file.
Mastery Pathways Training Libguide
This libguide includes resources used to train staff on how to complete Mastery Pathways in Canvas.
Share a Resource to Canvas Commons
Use Canvas Modules to organize course content Modules allow instructors to organize content to help control the flow of the course. Modules are used to organize course content by weeks, units, or a different organizational structure. Modules essentially create a one-directional linear flow of what students should do in a course.
Reorder and hide Course Navigation Links you will not use As an instructor, you can control which links appear in Course Navigation. By default, all links are enabled for all courses. Please note that links cannot be renamed.
Invite families to be Observers in a Course

Weekly Canvas Tasks

Share Weekly Homework Assignments: Assign by Section
Canvas
Canvas is our High School Learning Management System (LMS), where teachers upload assignments for students

ERIC Help Guides

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Gale Virtual Reference Center Help Guides

GVRL - On-Demand Tutorial

Gale Virtual Reference Professional Development Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to education & technology ebooks, purchased for the Breakthrough Schools grant. These resources will also be located in Koha.

Hapara Help Guides

Hapara Tools
For 3rd-12th grade. Hapara Dashboard gives teachers and administrators unparalleled visibility and access to student work across Google Apps for Education. Hapara Highlights allows teachers to interact with and highlight online learning, view and guide activities, and reinforce digital citizenship. Hapara Workspace provides teachers with a simple, collaborative interface through which they can plan, share, and publish highly personalized and differentiated lessons, assignments, and units of work.

Detailed Hapara Training Guides

Welcome to Hapara: An Overview
Hapara Dashboard Training Hapara Dashboard gives teachers and administrators unparalleled visibility and access to student work across Google Apps for Education.
Hapara Highlights Training Hapara Highlights helps you see what learners are doing in the Google Chrome Browser in near-real-time.
Hapara Workspace Help Guide A Workspace is a collection of learning objectives, resources, tasks and assessment criteria for a stream of work. Workspaces can easily be differentiated for different groups of students. Students can see the context around the work they are doing, collaborate with other students, and have a great deal of student-agency in what they can add.
Hapara Champion Certification Program The Hapara Champion Certification program is designed for educators and educator-leaders who are responsible for teaching, supporting, guiding, coaching and mentoring classroom teachers.

Guides for Specific Hapara Functions

Beginning of Year Setup

CCPCS Hapara Beginning of Year Setup

Illuminate Education

Illuminate Ed - Link for Student Logins

Illuminate Interim Directions

Updated Illuminate Manual 2017 - CCPCS

Lightning Grader

Create a Lightning Grader Flexible Assessment in DnA This lesson details how to create a Lightning Grader Flexible Assessment in DnA. A Flexible Assessment is one that may include multiple choice and constructed response questions.
Help Guides: Assessment Scanning Lightning Grader Follow

Making Grading (Even Essays) Lightning Fast!

Illuminate Education DnA
For Teachers. Illuminate DnA gives us the ability to design, deliver and analyze standards-aligned assessments through the web.

Learning Ally Help Guides

Learning Ally Educator Resources
Learning Ally - Browse Audiobooks
Learning Ally
Learning Ally creates human-narrated audio textbooks, literature and education solutions for students with print and learning disabilities including dyslexia.

Mathalicious Help Guides

Using Mathalicious: Training Videos
Mathalicious
For MS & HS: Mathalicious provides real-world lessons that help middle and high school teachers address the Common Core Standards while challenging their students to think critically about the world.

Newsela Pro

Newsela Quick Start Guide for Teachers
Newsela Pro Learning & Support Access Live Webinars, Online Courses, On Demand Application Webinars, and Feature Videos
Newsela Pro Certified Educator Newsela Certified Educator is a training program designed to recognize leaders in the Newsela community. The online lessons will review the basics of Newsela features, Pro tips, and classroom applications.
Newsela Pro Teacher 101 Course

Newsela Pro This link opens in a new window
The Middle and High School have purchased a Site License for the Pro account. Each Newsela text is offered at multiple tiers, for every student, no matter their level. Now students can study the same content and learn at their own pace—while teachers save time and headaches.