Skip to main content

From Civil Rights to Black Liberation: Home

"As the civil rights struggle widened into a national liberation struggle, many activists began looking for political strategies that went beyond the integrationism of mainstream civil rights groups." Liberation School

A Nation Built on the Back of Slavery and Racism

Take a closer look here: http://www.yesmagazine.org/pdf/74/74-JTF-8.5x11.pdf

DCPL Resources: E-mail Ms. Harley for login assistance

Contains 500 full-text reference and scholarly articles and over 4,000 slave narratives. Includes primary documents, maps and images, lesson plans, and searchable timelines.

Contains over 5,000 biographies, more than 7,500 articles, and hundreds of maps, documents, images, timelines, and charts and tables of African-American life, history, and culture.

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.

Searchable eBooks, geared toward children and teens, covering many aspects of African-American History and Culture.

Designed for students K-12. Consists of more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books and transcripts—plus more than 1,000 maps, Web sites, audio-video files and pictures.

Search over 88,000 images dealing with the Justice Department's and its Federal Bureau of Investigation's widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. The collection covers Malcom X, Thurgood Marshall, Black Panthers and many others.
 

Historic Black Newspapers (Proquest)

Full historic content from three major black newspapers: The Chicago Defender (1909-75), The New York Amsterdam News (1922-93) The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) and The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988).

Contains full text for thousands of history encyclopedias, reference books, leading periodicals and other sources. Features nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

New York Times (full text backfile to 1980, Book Review and Magazine are included in PDF format), Los Angeles Times (full text backfile to 1985), Wall Street Journal (full text backfile to 1984), Christian Science Monitor (full text backfile to 1988) and The Washington Post (full text backfile to 1987). Search as a group or individually.

Covers the hottest social issues from terrorism to endangered species, stem cell research to gun control. Brings together all the information that's needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, 140 full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to hand-selected Web sites.

Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement (Gale)

Search over 700 transcriptions of interviews of individuals who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.

Magazines, newspapers, reference books and encyclopedias provide information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, sports, history and more. Tools to help students think about their ideas and organize their information are included.

 

Capital City Library Resources

Black History of the White House

Bad Blood

One of the Fathers of Black History Was Afro-Puerto Rican

Black Power!

https://goo.gl/images/0R2ldP

Women's Liberation Movement

https://goo.gl/images/WipXZx

"A woman's place is in the struggle!"

Quote by: Assata Shakur

https://goo.gl/images/XVGvtL

"I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired."

Fannie Lou Hamer and Ella Baker

Quote by: Fannie Lou Hamer

https://goo.gl/images/qWkkvt

Gloria Richardson

https://goo.gl/images/tZ9fWj

Malcolm X

​https://goo.gl/images/Rsp7ya

Black Panther Party

https://goo.gl/images/x8Jbp2

Bayard Rustin

https://goo.gl/images/gdBTgG

Shirley Chisholm

https://goo.gl/images/a2PVSQ

Athlete Activists

https://goo.gl/images/rjmKws

Colin Kaepernick

https://goo.gl/images/2VZAVE

#BlackLivesMatter

https://goo.gl/images/4e55ul

Poor People's Campaign

https://goo.gl/images/AABx9S

SNCC Digital Gateway

https://goo.gl/images/yxHsr7

Lesson Plans & Resources

Black LGBTQ History: Teachers Must Do a Better Job

DC Area Educators For Social Justice

Association for the Study of African American Life and History

The Schomburg

National Museum of African American History & Culture

https://goo.gl/images/oLsmwP